Connect with us


NASA announces a new zodiac sign


NASA announces a new zodiac sign

There are a few people in the world that make their decisions based on astrology, others might find it merely an interesting read, while others rank it in line with mythology. NASA decided to update the zodiac signs centred around the idea of horoscopes. This is the first time NASA has updated the signs in 2000 years. So, understandably people are skeptic about the addition.


Nearly 86% of us now have a different star sign thanks to the addition. This is how the new star sign dates look like:

Capricorn: Jan 20 – Feb 16

Aquarius: Feb 16 – March 11

Pisces: March 11 – April 18

Aries: April 18 – May 13

Taurus: May 13 – June 21

Gemini: June 21 – July 20

Cancer: July 20 – Aug 10

Leo: Aug 10 – Sept 16

Virgo: Sept 16 – Oct 30

Libra: Oct 30 – Nov 23

Scorpio: Nov 23 – Nov 29

Ophiuchus: Nov 29 – Dec 17

Sagittarius: Dec 17 – Jan 20


As you can see from the list, Ophiuchus is the 13th star sign. NASA responded to the confusion this addition has caused:

Laurie Cantillo of the Planetary Exploration, Heliophysics department told BBC Trending: “We didn’t change any zodiac signs, we did the math. NASA reported that because the Earth’s axis has changed, the constellations are no longer in the same place they were thousands of years ago.

“The Space Place feature that sparked this is about how astrology is not astronomy, how it was a relic of ancient history, and pointed out the science and math that come from observations of the night sky.”

 What does it mean if you are now an Ophiuchus?  House (there are 13 zodiac signs and therefore there are 13 Houses) Ophiuchus represented Unity. The sign of the, well, sign is that of a man holding a serpent. Its people were spirited, magnetic, impulsive, clever and flamboyant. They are also at times jealous, power-hungry, and temperamental. At their hearts, they were healers. They are overall pretty much a combination between Sagittarius and Scorpio.  


NASA pointed out that astrology was created by the Babylonians and that even they had 13 zodiac signs they made of use. Tali Edut pointed out that it depends on which interpretation of the zodiac your favorite astrologer tends to use. She also echoed NASA in saying that this interpretation is based on 12 zodiac signs and has nothing to do with the exact position of the stars. So therefore it’s totally up to you which horoscope chart you prefer. 

By: Kriszti Bottyan

Continue Reading

My name is Kriszti Bottyan (23) and I am the Editor of Teenzone Magazine. This means that all content goes through me before it reaches you. I graduated from the University of Pretoria in 2015 and I am currently completing my post-grad in Applied Languages. I am admittedly addicted to E! but I am also into the more serious content about society and about topics concerning YOUR future. Ultimately, you are my number one priority. We have migrated to a digital platform that is more suitable to you, our readers. We are continuously grateful for your support and in return promise to deliver. We will not disappoint!


More in MeZone

To Top