Connect with us


Oooth releases debut album ‘Who cares what you think?’


Oooth releases debut album ‘Who cares what you think?’

Friday, 2 November 2018 sees the release of OOOTH’s debut album, WHO CARES WHAT YOU THINK. The album comes after the release of their debut single, HANDS UNDER THE TABLE earlier in September.

OOOTH is fronted by JASON OOSTHUIZEN, who started playing drums at the age of four, and since then has gone on to play in some of the best bands to come out of South Africa. In 2018 he decided to broaden his musical horizons to singer/songwriter position by replacing the drumsticks with a Gibson electric guitar and mic as frontman of OOOTH. For OOOTH, JASON has written, recorded and produced most aspects of the project himself.

WHO CARES WHAT YOU THINK. was written and recorded by JASON over the last eight months, and recorded with Pete Hanmer at Foxglove Studios in Alberton, Gauteng. Inspired to push himself out of his comfort zone, JASON decided to challenge himself and his music career by writing and recording a full solo record. “It must be one of the most scary antics I’ve tried and I’m still not 100% sure I can pull it off, but I’m gonna try my best and see what happens.” says JASON.

Busy drumming, loud guitars and some sing along choruses are only a few elements which fans can expect from the new OOOTH album. It has been a while since a rock band popped up in South Africa reviving the plain and simple rock ’n roll sound with no restrains on lyrical content, and OOOTHwants to do just that.

“I think too many people don’t do things they want to do because they scared of what others will think of them. I just think who cares what people think, and just do it in anyway.”


1.   Gotta Give It Up
2.   Hands Under The Table
3.   Calling Me
4.   Would You Recognise
5.   Who Do You Know
6.   Grateful
7.   Small World
8.   Who Cares What You Think.
9.   No Race
10. I’m Okay





*Photos by Christelle Duvenhage.

Continue Reading

More in CultureZone

To Top